Effective January 1, 2001, no person may drive any of the following vehicles on a highway at a speed in excess of 55 miles per hour:

 

(a) A motortruck or truck tractor having three or more axles or any motortruck or truck tractor drawing any other vehicle.
(b) A passenger vehicle or bus drawing any other vehicle.
(c) A schoolbus transporting any school pupil.
(d) A farm labor vehicle when transporting passengers.
(e) A vehicle transporting explosives.
(f) A trailer bus.

 

So, trucks are supposed to go at 55 mph tops, while other vehicles can go 65–75 mph.

 

There are four important points to know about a truck driver speeding in California.

 

The fine for a violation of Vehicle Code 22406 VC can range from $285.00 to more than $500.00. If a truck driver exceeds the speed limit by 1-9 miles per hour, a ticket will cost approximately $285.
If a truck driver exceeds the speed limit by 10 or more miles per hour, a ticket will cost over $500.

A truck driver caught speeding over 55 miles per hour will receive either 1 or 1.5 points on his DMV record. You risk getting a negligent operator license suspension if you get 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months or 8 points in 36 months.
Truck drivers cannot ignore California speeding tickets. This act will likely result in a charge of failure to appear, per California Vehicle Code 40508, which can be charged as a misdemeanor.

 

Truck drivers, though, can voluntarily choose to attend traffic school. Generally, you can go to traffic school if:

– You have a valid driver’s license;
– The offense occurred while driving a noncommercial vehicle; and,
– Your ticket is for an infraction that is a moving violation.

 

If a driver elects to go to traffic school, he must still pay his traffic fine. However, the driver generally should not get any points on his driving record if he completes the school.